welcome

Moving Mountains

In Uncategorized on September 23, 2011 at 10:14 am

I hiked up table mountain.

Just so you can grasp exactly what that means please go to here.  Yes. I did that.

I’ve never been the kind of person who has the thought to hike up a mountain. Going up the stairs is challenge enough sometimes…but I was also not the kind of person to leave my friends and family behind and move to a place I’d never been before. I did that too.


My time in Cape Town has come to an end. I’m sitting in a restaurant in Lagos looking around trying to grasp the fact that in a few short days, this entire African adventure will be over. There are memories from this journey that I will hold on to forever. There are friends from this journey that I will hold on to forever.

 

  

I’ve learned what it means for me to exist in a space that isn’t defined by those who know and love me. I know what it is to stand in front of a mountain and find my way over it.

I could never have done any of this without the love and support of all of my greenlight people. Those who told me I’d be stupid not to do it. Those who told me I’d be stupid to do it. I am eternally grateful to find myself in stage in my life where I’ve been given so much room to learn and grow.

There is plenty to look forward to as I head home. My beautiful new niece, my little big nephew, my family, my friends and my career. I am an artist. I know this in every fibre of my being…so whether Cape Town or Timbuktu, Lagos or Edmonton, Alberta, Canada…telling stories is what I know. That will never change.

I thank you for coming with me on this journey, for being a space for me to whisper or scream my secrets into. For witnessing me move the mountain of my fears.

I’ll take you with me again next time I escape town.

love, love, love

Titilope

Leave a Reply

