welcome

Life happens…

In Uncategorized on September 10, 2011 at 1:10 am

I’ve been gone for too long.

I have reasons though. This life thing, it waits for no one. I’ve been all over the place the last little while. Still not coming to terms with the fact that this new found freedom will soon be over.

My last living grandparent passed away a few weeks ago. My father’s mother, 92 years old. I made an impromptu trip back to Lagos to be there with my family for the celebration of her long and fruitful life. It was also a chance for me to reconnect with and meet my extended family. Things just seem to always work out one way or another.

It was a great to see my cousins, all the aunties and uncles that knew me when I was just a snot nosed kid running barefoot around the house. Looking at the vast loving network my grandmother was created was a profound lesson in living a good life. People came from far and wide to pay their respects.

Don’t I have some gorgeous cousins?

All in all, it was a reflective and wonderful time. My Grandma Olatilewa was sent off in true naija style. She will be sorely missed.

  1. lovely photos… adieu grandma Olatilewa

Leave a Reply

