welcome

Alive

In Uncategorized on August 17, 2011 at 3:23 am

It was my birthday on the 15th! I’m 26 now, no longer in my “early twenties” I’m ok with it though. I don’t think I’ll ever be the sort of person to lie about my age. Don’t quote me

I am so grateful to have been blessed with yet another year of life and love. When I thought about spending my birthday so far away from my friends and family, I literally imagined myself roaming the streets of Cape Town like a homeless woman with a half eaten birthday cake. I have an active imagination.

It was nothing like that. I really don’t want to romanticize my time here in Cape Town but I must say that true to form, I seem to connect with the most amazing people in the most random ways.

The place our sessions were is a building called the Pan African Market, I spent basically everyday of the week there. I noticed there was this one girl that I’d always see in the office next door. She walked past me one day, and before I could process any kind of polite greeting, I blurted out “what do you do here?” needless to say, she looked at me like I was a little crazy.

She works in publishing for a groundbreaking magazine here in Cape Town. I shouldn’t say the name on my blog…but I will say it starts with a Chi and ends in murenga. They work in collaboration with a fantastic publishing house based in Lagos. I nearly laughed out loud when she told me this…it’s like no matter where I go, something or someone is always pointing me back in the direction of home.

I introduce myself to her and she tells me her name is Chichi. She’s Nigerian. Of course…I’m shaking my head and laughing at this point. She is smiling, she has no idea I’m about to make her my Cape Town bestie. We exchange numbers and bb pins. Later that evening she invites me to a movie screening at her friends place. I arrive at this lovely house that’s walking distance from where I live and find a room full of young beautiful people. I waste no time getting to know everyone. Let me just say that people are doing things in this world. From chef to model to human rights activists…I’m amazed.

I write all this to say, that I knew in that moment that no matter where I go on this earth, there is a divine hand that turns and pushes me in the direction that I need to be heading. I have known this for some time, but something about my experience here in Cape Town has made that concrete for me. I am blessed, in ways that I don’t even understand.

So these people take me in, there are other outings and movies after the first night I met them. There is an ease to the way everyone gets along, they remind me of my girlfriends back home. Without being too dramatic, somewhere along the line I discover that one of them shares the same birthday as me, and another’s birthday is 2 days before. Another goosebump moment takes place, and then a series of birthday plans are being thrown my way…and just like that. I have plans for my birthday. Look at God.

We spent the weekend leading up to Monday in a beach villa in Scarborough, a small town just south of Cape Town. It was so beautiful. I should have pictures…I don’t. Why? Beer pong is a very bad game. That’s all I’m at liberty to share. Moving on.

On my actual birthday on Monday, I went to the beach and spent the afternoon in the sun. Something about watching the ocean and the mountains reminds me of how small I am in this vast universe. It gives the word awesome new meaning.

We had dinner at this restaurant called Bombay Bicycle. A name like that will give you a small clue as to the randomnness of this restaurant.

It was the right mix of foolywang to celebrate a new year and a new chapter of my life.

So here’s to a new year of laughing too loud, dancing too hard and knowing that love will aways find you, when your heart is open to receive it.

  1. The last picture….my fav! Insert subliminal message:next profile pic…
    Glad you had a blast on your birthday…God certainly works in mysterious ways!

  2. Happy Belated Bday Titi!!!!

    Let God continue to pave your path to Greatness!! I love your pictures/blogposts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

