welcome

Reverence

In Uncategorized on July 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

My first few days here have been really eye opening.

I’m sharing an apartment with another student. I have never lived away from home before, so there is a lot of growth happening. I’m learning things about myself that I hadn’t noticed before. It’s difficult to recognize what is inherent when you are on the clock in a hamster wheel to nowhere. They say the person you become when no one is watching is who you really are. I hope so.

We have a great view from our balcony; we wake up to the sun spilling through the large windows in our living room. There’s a sense of reverence here that makes you want to sit still and honor the opportunity to start each morning with this kind of beauty.

A friend of mine sent me a book “40 Days and 40 Nights Toward Spiritual Strength and Personal Growth – One Day My Soul Just Opened Up” it’s a book of teachings by Iyanla Vanzant. It couldn’t have been better timed. The book begins with the affirmation that “when you are comfortable, you are not growing”. That is the very reason I ended up in Cape Town.

Complacency is the fastest way to kill your dreams.

I’m into Day 2 of the book, learning lessons on honoring the truth and trusting in that truth.

“When we do not choose, we live by default”

“God does not punish us, we punish ourselves by failing to honor the divine that exists within us”

“Trust in the divine is not the same as trust in people”

Amen? Amen.

We’ve been getting to know the City, there’s so much to see here.

Our sessions begin today. After a few days of settling in, I am ready.

“Feed your faith and your fears will starve to death” – Anonymous.

Leave a Reply

