welcome

Green Light People

In Uncategorized on June 22, 2011 at 10:44 pm

I leave this weekend.

Every time I respond to the “when do you leave?” question, I almost can’t believe the words I’m saying. I’m a lot of things, but mostly just excited.

*interlude*

Yup, exactly like that.

Moving on!

This past Saturday, what I thought was going to be dinner with a friend turned out to be a surprise dinner with several friends who came to send me off with love. I know some amazing people, for real.

Fellow Canadian poet Brad Morden has a poem called Green Light People…”for those who have cast green lights in my path” and that’s exactly what everyone came out to do.

I have more love in my life than I know what to do with and I am so grateful to have a circle that grows to encourage, protect and support me every step of the way.

Picking up to go to Cape Town is not a cheap endeavour, but before I could even think about how to go about raising the funds support came from all over the place, grants have been approved, poetry shows have appeared from nowhere, I randomly got an email from a lady I did a show for a year ago saying she had a cheque for me. I’m not exaggerating…one. year. ago. I even had a friend give me a blackberry today so I can stay in touch while i’m gone. If that is not the hand of G.O.D, I don’t know what is.

So they sent me off with love and laughter and words of encouragement

I’m ready…”for those who speak to the spark in my eye and hold me accountable”  I hope I make you proud.

Love, love, love,

Titilope

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed your surprise!! Have a safe trip to South Africa!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

